Zelensky fires Ambassador to Germany Andrij Melnyk and four other Ukrainian ambassadors
9 July, 2022

President Volodymyr Zelenskyy signed decrees on the dismissal of five Ukrainian ambassadors, according to the relevant decrees published on the website of the Office of the President on July 9.

Zelenskyy signed decrees on the dismissal of Yevhen Perebyinis from the post of ambassador of Ukraine to the Czech Republic, Vyacheslav Yatsyuk from the post of ambassador to Norway, and Lyubov Nepop from the post of ambassador to Hungary.

Zelenskyy also recalled the Ukrainian ambassador to Germany Andrij Melnyk: after his interview with German journalists (during which Stepan Bandera was discussed), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs renounced Melnyk's words, and the Foreign Minister Dmytro Kuleba, held a conversation with his Polish counterpart.

The president also signed a decree on the discharge of Igor Polikha — the ambassador of Ukraine to India, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Mass recall of ambassadors

This is not the first time since the beginning of the active war that Volodymyr Zelenskyy has made personnel changes among Ukrainian ambassadors. In March, he signed a decree recalling the Ambassador of Ukraine to Morocco, Oksana Vasylieva, and the Ambassador of Ukraine to Georgia, Ihor Dolhov.

At the time, Zelenskyy warned that officials should work for the benefit of the state, and not just hold on to their positions.

"There are those who work together with everyone for the defense of the state, for Ukraine to be able to secure its future — we appreciate the work of each such person. And there are those who waste time and work only to stay in office […] With all due respect: if there are no weapons, no sanctions, no restrictions on Russian businesses — please look for another job," the head of state said in March.

After that, in May, Zelenskyy also dismissed by his decree Valerii Kirdoda from the post of ambassador of Ukraine to Nigeria and Cameroon. And at the end of June, Zelensky signed decrees on the dismissal of Ukrainian ambassadors in five countries at once: Georgia, Slovakia, Portugal, Iran, and Lebanon.