Hromadske Journalist Receives International Press Freedom Award
20 November, 2018

We are proud to announce that Hromadske’s own Nastya Stanko is being honoured at this year’s International Press Freedom Awards held by the Committee to Protect Journalists today.

The annual awards are given to select journalists from around the world who have demonstrated their commitment to defending freedom of press in the face of violence, repression and even imprisonment.

As a staunch advocate of press freedom, Stanko has covered some of the biggest events in Ukraine’s recent history from the Euromaidan revolution to Russia’s annexation of Crimea and the war in Donbas, where she was even held hostage for two days in 2014.

Stanko is one of the founding members of Hromadske.

Also being honored are outstanding journalists from Sudan, Vietnam and Venezuela. Philippine journalist Maria Ressa is also being awarded the Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award.

In celebration of the awards, Italian artist Gianluca Constantini has produced a series of illustrations in honor of the year’s winners.